The General Assembly has 37 members elected for five years, the maximum duration of its existence. The Assembly elected May 26, 1953 was the 45th in Nova Scotia's history and the 22nd since Confederation.

The Premier of the Province receives a salary of \$12,000 per annum and each Cabinet Minister a salary of \$10,000 per annum. Each Member of the House of Assembly receives a sessional indemnity of \$2,400 and an allowance of \$1,200 for expenses incidental to the discharge of his duties. The Leader of the Opposition receives an allowance of \$3,000 in addition to his sessional indemnity.

16.—Legislatures and Premiers of Nova Scotia 1933-55 and Ministry as at June 30, 1955

Legislatures 1933-551

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Aug. 22, 1933 June 29, 1937 Oct. 28, 1941 Oct. 23, 1945 June 9, 1949 May 26, 1953	17th General Assembly 18th General Assembly 19th General Assembly 20th General Assembly 21st General Assembly 22nd General Assembly.	4 4 4	Mar. 1, 1934 Mar. 1, 1938 Feb. 19, 1942 Mar. 14, 1946 Mar. 21, 1950 Feb. 24, 1954	May 20, 1937 Sept. 19, 1941 Sept. 12, 1945 Apr. 27, 1949 Apr. 14, 1953

¹ The Ministries from 1933-55 were: 12th Ministry sworn in Sept. 5, 1933 under the leadership of Hon. Angus L. Macdonald; 13th Ministry sworn in July 10, 1940 under the leadership of Hon. A. S. MacMillan; 14th Ministry sworn in Sept. 8, 1945 under the leadership of Hon. Angus L. Macdonald; 15th Ministry sworn in Apr. 13, 1954 under the leadership of Hon. Harold Conolly; 16th Ministry sworn in Sept. 30, 1954 under the leadership of Hon. Henry D. Hicks. ² Life of legislature not expired at June 30, 1955.

Sixteenth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election May 26, 1953: 22 Liberals, 12 Progressive Conservatives, 2 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation and one vacancy.)

Note .- See headnote to Table 15.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier, Provincial Secretary, Chairman of the Nova Scotia Power Commission and Minister in charge of Administration of the Nova Scotia Liquor Control Act Minister of Highways and Public Works Attorney General and Minister of Municipal Affairs. Minister of Education and Provincial Treas- urer.	Hon. HENRY D. HICKS Hon. A. W. MACKENZIE Hon. Geoffrey Stevens Hon. M. A. Patterson Hon. R. M. Fielding	Apr. 4, 1946 June 10, 1947	(Sept. 30, 1954 Nov. 29, 1954 Feb. 15, 1934 June 11, 1954 (Apr. 13, 1955 (Apr. 27, 1955 Apr. 27, 1955 Apr. 13, 1954
Minister of Trade, Industry and Mines Minister of Agriculture and Marketing and Minister of Lands and Forests	Hon. W. T. DAUPHINEE		Apr. 13, 1954 ∫June 11, 1954
Minister of Welfare and Labour	Hon. J. CLYDE NUNN	CHARLENDARY ADDRESS APPROXIMATE	June 27, 1955 June 27, 1955

Subsection 4.--New Brunswick

The Government of New Brunswick has a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a House of Assembly.

The Honourable David Laurence MacLaren, Lieutenant-Governor at May 31, 1955, was commissioned to office Nov. 1, 1945. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the 1951 Year Book, p. 89.